For as long as I can remember, I’ve been encouraged and cajoled by teachers, family and friends to write professionally.  Over the years, I’ve dabbled in HOA newsletters, poetry, short stories, formal papers as the opportunity or obligation arose.  But I’ve never really thought seriously about writing as a profession.  Too much to do.  Too little time.  Too little self-confidence.

Now I’m retired.  I have time.  I have no more excuses.  So for self-amusement and to keep me from time-wasting mind-numbing activities, I’ve started writing.  Not a lot.  Maybe an hour every morning, or before I go to bed.  Little things that I find amusing, or aggravating, or just life things.  I’m not good at making things up…I’ll never be able to write fiction.  But just the everyday incident that is a bit exaggerated or humorous enough to keep me interested, or maybe a reader.  I don’t know.  I really believe that if we don’t see the humor – even in tragedy – we’re lost. 

So that is what will be posted here.  Rough – very rough – drafts of daily experiences…or childhood memories.  Uncut diamonds.  Totally not Shakespeare.  If we laugh a little or cry a little through this, I’ve succeeded. 

But really – I need editors.  Every writer does.  Experienced or novice – the writer needs a third, fourth and fifth eye to see, to clarify, to express the truth that lies beneath the story.  That’s where you come in.  I welcome your criticism, compliments, and ideas.  I can’t do it without your help.  So, contact me…I will respond.

 

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Marianne

 

Leave a Reply

